Bloodstone, Old Wives Tales and Holy Friday

This past week I have been lead back to the use of the crystal that goes by the name of Bloodstone or Heliotrope. One of my most powerful healing crystals, reminded me through a personal discomfort that I am experiencing, that this is Holy Week for all Christian Denominations around the world.  This tandem celebration takes place every 4 years, and till this day, I still will never understand why it is not celebrated by all simultaneously. Nonetheless, this is not an entry of any religious controversy, but one that will tell you my personal experience and witness of the story of bloodstone that, till now, I had only heard of by word of mouth from old women. One of these saw me carrying one, while walking down the street and told me to observe it during Holy Week, when it is the same for all. That was about a year ago. Naturally I had forgotten all about it. But spirit thought otherwise, and made sure through a sudden health issue associated with blood, that I was lead back to bloodstone and remember the old woman’s words.

The most widely known legend of this stone comes from the Middle Ages and claims the “Blood Stone” was formed at the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, when the blood of his wounds fell onto the dark green earth and turned to stone. Another version declares the blood of Christ, which flowed from the fatal spear-thrust, fell upon a Green Jasper lying at the foot of the Cross, and from this sprang the Bloodstone variety of Jasper. Today, as then, Bloodstone is regarded as a gem of noble sacrifice and can offer courage and solace to all who are called to give of themselves for the good of others. It elicits the highest, most altruistic character of those who wear or carry it.

The old woman had told me, that on Holy Thursday, any bloodstone would go dark green without hardly any red or orange specs in it. It represented the humble greens that were eaten at the last supper and the garden of Gesthimani, And so it was. My two Bloodstone crystals were unusually dark green. No matter how much I cleansed them or charged them, their color did not change.

bloodstoneA

I woke up on Holy Friday and saw that the red specs started to slowly emerge. So, I look my clearly cleansed crystals and charged them on the epitaph (flower-decorated church funeral beds of Jesus Christ, available in all  Greek orthodox churches on Holy Friday). The old woman had specifically said: ‘On the year when all celebrate Easter together, take your bloodstone to the epitaph. It will turn mostly red. Keep the stone on you at all times. The sacrifice that the God of Man made for humanity and the blood he shed will help you when you feel the need in your body, your flesh, your bones and your blood.’  So I did. Of course, I took only my smaller stones, for fear of being ‘stoned to death as a pagan’ by the devout Christians, who were lining up in every church to pay their respects to the epitaph. Even if they set foot in church maybe once a year.

In just five hours, not only did they change color, but in one specific crystal, one that I laid on the depiction of the body of Christ, changed color totally. The other which I lay at his feet, showed great red-orange specs on the side that touched the epitaph. A small image of an ‘M” or “Greek Sigma” together emerged on the one that turned reddish brown, while an image of a person/ or a cross ( depending on how one interprets it) emerged on the other.

The energy of these stones is now extremely strong and emits a heat-like sensation, resembling a hot water bottle when placed on various parts of the body, especially the ones that have been causing me discomfort lately.

Old wives’ tale or not, the amazing visual and energetic transformation of these stones is something that not even the scientist in me can doubt. This little crystal ‘experiment’ has further renewed my faith in the way crystals vibrate on all levels, connecting the divine, the earthly and the physical.

If you happen to have some bloodstone on you, please swing by the first church you see today on Holy Friday. Whether Christian or not, the undoubted wisdom of this ascended master, will no doubt greet you and your bloodstone with light love and healing! Try this out! Would love to hear your impressions on this!

Wishing you all a very Happy Easter to all who celebrate, with healing on all levels!

For more information on Bloodstone please refer to:

https://www.crystalvaults.com/crystal-encyclopedia/bloodstone

Leave a Reply

